The Riverside School House dates back to around 1900 (somewhere between 1898 and 1905, no one knows for sure). It was originally the Winegar School and was first located about two miles west of its present location. Ten years or so later, the building was moved to it's present location on the headwaters of the John Day River, where it was renamed the Riverside School and was used to educate the children of the area until the 1960's.
The School House was originally one room and later split into two rooms to accommodate the needs of the children. One, and sometimes two, teachers taught as many as 25 students from first grade through high school.
Most of the students walked or rode horses to school and the barn where the horses were kept is still standing near the School House.
The original School House bell, which was installed in 1913, is still hanging. The Riverside School House is the only one room school still remaining in the area.
We invite you to enjoy the peace and quiet of the comfortable old Riverside School House and awaken to the sounds of the John Day River, only a few feet from the old School House doors.
Enjoy the breathtaking view of the Strawberry Mountains, and be treated to a country breakfast.
The Riverside School House is located on a working cattle ranch, six miles east of Prairie City.